Meat Mithkabobs

When I first became an adventurer 7 1/2 years ago, none of us had any idea what we were doing. Like anyone new, we stumbled about killing things, died constantly, got lost multiple times a day, etc. Eventually, someone who knew better would come along and tell us what we were supposed to be doing.

The first time I ever remember seeing someone eat food was when Pokko and I decided to wander off to Jeuno at some ridiculously low level. We made it to Meriphataud Mountains until we thought it would be cool to fight a lizard, our first ever. After we were beaten silly while standing there stiff as stone statues, a white mage in full artifact hopped off her chocobo to help us. She ate an apple pie before giving us both raises and then simply trotted off without more than a nod.

While this white mage never directly told us what to do, it opened a door for us. Unfortunately, for the tough guys in my group of friends, the only thing worth eating at the time was Meat Mithkabobs. They were extremely pricey, for Mhaura Garlic was really hard to come by back then and Cockatrice Meat was of course, also very hard to get. The melees all had to farm for funds to feed our group.

This is my first post to this new blog and the idea behind it is to bring recipes from Vana’diel into the real world. Since Meat Mithkabobs were the most important food of my newbie days, I figured I could start there.

Meat Mithkabobs

Since this was my first out of game synth, my meat didn’t turn out so great and I ended up with only three mithkabobs. My cast iron grill pan either wasn’t hot enough or I should have rubbed the meat with oil. I’m not sure yet, but the gray color is definitely a little gross. Still, they were pretty easy to make and tasty too. Read on for the recipe, which I kept as true to the original as I could.

The first thing you need to get is some Kazham Peppers.

Kazham Peppers

I bought two jalapenos and one red chili, just so that I could match the picture. There don’t seem to be any of the red peppers used in the mithkabobs, so I just left them out in the end.

Next you’ll need some cockatrice meat.

Cockatrice Meat

I couldn’t believe my luck when I found this in my local supermarket. If you can’t find any though, a regular boneless round steak will do.

Next up is the aromatics, Mhaura Garlic and Wild Onion. There aren’t many goblins in Honolulu, so I had to just buy an onion.

Aromatics

Mince the garlic, then cut the onion into chunks. Cut the stems off the peppers, then slice in half lengthwise and remove the seeds. Chop into chunks. Season your meat with salt and pepper, then rub with minced garlic. Cut into cubes.

Ready to Assemble

This is where you should be at now. Next, you’ll need some wooden skewers. The ones I had were a bit long, so I cut them shorter. Next, skewer the meat and veggies going in the order of: meat, onion, pepper.

Kabobs

Here are my three meat mithkabobs ready to cook. Next, heat a cast iron pan on medium until smoking. Add the kabobs and cook until nicely done and slightly charred. This is probably better on a grill, but I’m not allowed to grill in our yard.

Meat Mithkabobs

In the end, this is how they turned out. I ate them for lunch and used them in my Fan Art bento. I must admit, it was pretty tasty, so I can definitely see why the Mithra favor them!

Meat Mithkabobs

Ingredients:

  • 1 chunk Cockatrice Meat (round steak)
  • Kazham Peppers (jalapenos, red chilis)
  • 1 small Wild Onion (round onion)
  • 2-3 cloves Mhaura Garlic
  • Rock Salt to taste
  • Black Pepper to taste

Tools:

  • Fire Crystal (stove and pan or grill)
  • wooden skewers

Instructions:

  1. Chop and clean peppers.
  2. Chop onions.
  3. Mince garlic.
  4. Season meat with salt, pepper, and garlic. Cut into cubes.
  5. Heat pan until smoking and cook kabobs until done and slightly charred.

Have you figured out who Piketo is yet? He’s none other than the Culinarian Guildmaster! I hope you all have enjoyed this first post!

June 16, 2010. Tags: , , , , , . Meat Dish, Recipes.

7 Comments

  1. Kiworrior replied:

    This is cool! I’ve been looking to get into cooking, but haven’t found the motivation, but cooking FFXI food might just motivate me!

    I want to try making meat mithkabobs this weekend now!

  2. bsphil replied:

    Nice, you should’ve made a full stack though!

  3. metade replied:

    Nice guide and brought back lots of memories to me too.

    My first meat mithkabob experience was when I was a loldrk at lvl28ish fighting in yhoater jungle. There was a very nice galka who gave each of the melee meatkabob (he actually gave me half stack). I ate it and noticed my damage had been improved quite noticably.

    Till this day, this is still a very good food for melee in low lvl.

  4. mithrandrk replied:

    Pikko… Making food from FFXI is an awesome idea!!! Keep it up!!! Would you consider trying to make any of the Au Lait’s????? I’ve always wondered how that’d go down…

  5. Skyrant replied:

    I see i am not the only one who did some Experimentarus in cooking FFXI food.

    Here are 2 pictures of my first try on Tavnazian Tacos, my favourite choice in PLD food.

    http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/photo.php?pid=189778&id=1692439527&fbid=1094880187533

    I choose soft taco shells so they don’t crumble in my pocketarus when taking them out to events and parties.

    I used smoked bream to add a more “earthy” taste to it and give it a nicer consistency than steamed or even raw fish.

    I hope you like it and i am looking forward to your next recipe.

    ~SkY

  6. Debra replied:

    Hi Pikko, Congratulations on your new food blog! Best wishes and I look forward to visiting often and checking out the recipes!

  7. Minabi replied:

    lol, this brings back memories. Careful planning of inventory space and hitting the shop once it opened to buy what you needed. I only just noticed today that you bought “Cockatrice Meat” from Foodland. Nice find! 😉 I’ll try this out on the 4th of July weekend but I’ll modify it some. Got a non Cockatrice meat eater and I’ll probably sub out the jalapenos for bell peppers.

Leave a comment

Trackback URI