Carrot Broth

Okay so after my so-so start with Meat Mithkabobs, I thought I’d do something a lot simpler for my next recipe and what is simpler than some good ole Carrot Broth. Besides, I figured my kids would like some hare familiars to play with.

I’d gone to the Costco Auction House a couple months (yes, months) ago and since the organic San d’Orian carrots there are actually cheaper in bulk than buying it at my local AH, I figured I should just get that and whatever I don’t use can go into our Little Worm compost bin. I still have about half the bag left and they’ve started to grow, so this was a good excuse to use up a few.

San d'Orian Carrots

As you can see, they’re getting a bit hairy and starting to sprout at the top. The funny thing about these carrots is that in all my experiments I don’t think I ever did grow any, though it does appear to be possible with, if you can believe this, Fruit Seeds. Yeah, what’s up with that?

Anyway, I took my four hairy carrots and peeled and chopped them into large pieces.

Chopped Carrots

They look much better now, don’t they? The recipe only calls for water and four carrots, so that’s what I went with. I tossed them into a pot and added three cups of water.

Carrots with Water Crystals

I covered it and boiled it on medium heat, then reduced to low and forgot about it for two hours. I came back, removed the carrots and froze them to use in bentos later. Now it was time to taste my broth!

Carrot Broth

At this point I was thinking it must taste pretty bland, so I added about a half a teaspoon of Rock Salt and then had a little taste. Despite the addition of the salt, it tasted like crap. And even worse, no hare familiars showed up. I think probably because I didn’t actually drink the whole thing? Do beastmasters drink their broth?

I asked around to see what people thought beastmasters do with the jugs to call their pets and the majority of opinions seemed to think they just pour it on the ground to attract the animal. Sounds good to me, cause there ain’t no way anyone is getting me to drink that stuff straight up.

I’ll probably use it as a base for soup, but there’s no way it’s edible just like that because it just tastes like carrot water.

Carrot Broth

Ingredients:

  • 4 San d’Orian Carrots
  • 3-4 cups of water, enough to cover
  • Rock Salt to taste

Instructions:

  1. Peel carrots and remove ends. Chop into thirds.
  2. Add carrots to pot and cover with water. Cover and heat to boil. Simmer on low for 1 hour.
  3. Remove carrots with a slotted spoon and save for other dishes.

June 29, 2010. Tags: , , . Broths, Recipes.

5 Comments

  1. Susperia replied:

    Is it cheating to use a blender to make it into a carrot puree instead?

  2. Stardust replied:

    I have to say, I really enjoy this blog, and your AIB blog also! I originally found you years ago on your gardening website and have followed you (kinda creepy sounding lol) from there. Keep up the awesome work you do!

    I used to grow carrots in my Mog House for my chocobo babies!

    • Stardeath replied:

      I’m with Stardust on this one…..and of course Pikko (after teaching me to grow tree saplings) was my inspiration to start bento. My what a small world…^.^

  3. Minabi replied:

    haha… I remember making carrot broth when I was younger because I had an epiphany that soup was just a bunch of things boiled in lots of water. I chopped up my carrots in slices and I think I may have boiled it with beef broth and some chilli peppers. It actually came out not that bad.. which Iʻm sure was all due to the beef broth.

    Mom freaked out when she found out I used her beef broth. :p

Leave a comment

Trackback URI